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glossary

DSP? CPM? DCO? CPA? Don’t Worry, Just Take a Look Below.

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Above the Fold

Refers to positioning – part of the webpage that is visible without scrolling. See ‘Below the Fold’.

Ad Blocker

Software on a user‘s browser which prevents advertisements from being displayed.

Ad Exchange

A digital marketplace that enables advertisers and publishers to buy and sell advertising space, often through real-time auctions. They’re mostly used to sell display, video and mobile ad inventory.

Ad Insertion

When an ad is inserted in a document and recorded by the ad server.

Ad Network

An aggregator or broker of advertising inventory for many sites. Ad networks are the sales representatives for the websites within the network.

Ad Serving

The delivery of ads by a server to an end user’s computer on which the ads are then displayed by a browser and/or cached. Ad serving is normally performed either by a web publisher or by a third-party ad server. Ads can be embedded in the page or served separately.

Ad Transfers

The successful display of an advertiser’s website after the user clicked on an ad. When a user clicks on an advertisement, a click-through is recorded and re-directs or “transfers” the user’s browser to an advertiser’s website. If the user successfully displays the advertiser’s website, an ad transfer is recorded.

Ad Verification

A service that confirms if an ad ran where it was intended on behalf of the advertiser.

Ad View

When the ad is actually seen by the user. Note this is not measurable today. The best approximation today is provided by ad displays.

Banner

A graphic advertising image displayed on a web page. See iab.net for voluntary guidelines defining specifications of banner ads.

Behavioral Targeting

A technique used by online publishers and advertisers to increase the effectiveness of their campaigns. Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual‘s web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made to select which advertisements to be displayed to that individual.

Below the Fold

(NOT to be confused with below the belt.)

The part of a webpage that can’t be seen without scrolling down. See ‘Above the Fold’.

Bid Request

In order to sell inventory in real-time, online publishers need to submit bid request information, such as domain URL, banner types, floor price and position.

Bid Response

Participating in an auction requires the submission of an answer to the publisher’s bid request: the Bid Response. This may contain bid price, Seat ID (identifies the buyer) and target URL.

Blacklist

(The opposite of your little black book - these players you won't want to call.)

A list of websites that an advertiser will not permit their ads to be placed on. These sites often contain content that is not aligned with the brand image of the advertiser.

Bonus Impressions

Additional ad impressions above the commitments outlined in the approved insertion order.

Bot

(What is Bot short for? 'Cuz he's only got little legs...(actually short for Robot))

Software that runs automatically without human intervention. Typically, a bot is endowed with the capability to react to different situations it may encounter. Two common types of bots are agents and spiders. Bots are used by companies like search engines to discover websites for indexing.

Buyer

An agency representing buyers that attempts to buy ad inventory on behalf of advertisers.

Cache

(Softly, softly cach-e monkey…)

Memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Caches can be local (i.e. on a browser) or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM) and disk (hard drive) cache.

Cached Ad Impressions

The delivery of an advertisement to a browser from local cache or a proxy server‘s cache. When a user requests a page that contains a cached ad, the ad is obtained from the cache and displayed.

Channel

1) A band of similar content; 2) a type of sales outlet (also known as channel of distribution), for example retail, catalog, or e-commerce.

Click Fraud

(The modern day equivalent to a Dickensian pickpocket...)

Click fraud is a type of internet crime that occurs in pay-per-click online advertising when a person, automated script, or computer program imitates a legitimate user of a web browser clicking on an ad, for the purpose of generating a charge-per-click without having actual interest in the target of the ad’s link.

Click Rate

(High click rate - All those years spent playing Hungry Hippos has finally paid off for Alvin the Ad.)

Ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions.

Click-Through Rate (CTR)

Used to measure the success of an online or mobile advertising campaign, CTR is the number of users who clicked on ad/number of times the ad was delivered.

Clickbait

(Surely we all want to know how 'this average mom lost 500 pounds in just ONE easy step' though, yes??)

Website content that is aimed at generating advertising revenue, especially at the expense of quality or accuracy. It mainly relies on sensationalist headlines to attract click-throughs.

Clicks

1) Metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet ad. There are three types of clicks: click-throughs; in-unit clicks and mouseovers; 2) the opportunity for a user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server; 3) the result of a measurable interaction with an advertisement or key word that links to the advertiser‘s intended website or another page or frame within the website; 4) metric which measures the reaction of a user to linked editorial content.

Content Grazing

This refers to the common multi-device practice of using two or more screens at the same time to access unrelated content, e.g. watching a show on TV and writing an email on a smartphone or tablet.

Contextual Targeting

A form of targeted advertising that scans media for context and automatically serves ads based on the content displayed to the user.

Cookie

(Mmm, not the delicious little baked treat…)

A small piece of information (i.e. program code) that is stored on a browser for the purpose of identifying that browser during audience activity and between visits or sessions.

Cookie Buster

Software that blocks the placement of cookies on a user‘s browser.

Cookie Syncing

The process of mapping user IDs from one system to another.

CPA (Cost-Per-Action)

Cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. “Actions” include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click.

CPC (Cost-Per-Click)

Cost of advertising based on the number of times a customer clicks on an advert instead of the number of impressions.

CPL (Cost-Per-Lead)

Cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received.

CPM (Cost-per-mille, more commonly referred to as Cost-per-thousand)

Media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions (“mille” means thousand in Latin). For example, if a website publisher charges $1.50 CPM, that means an advertiser will pay $1.50 for every 1,000 impressions of its ad. To calculate the CPM for a campaign, divide the budget of the campaign by the number of impressions and multiply by a thousand. E.g. ($15,000 / 10,000,000) * 1000 = $1.50 CPM.