Knowledge Bank

Glossary

Swat up on all the digital jargon and acronyms with our comprehensive A-Z glossary

Above the Fold

Refers to positioning- part of the webpage that is visible without scrolling. See ‘Below the Fold’.

Ad Blocker

Software on a user’s browser which prevents advertisements from being displayed

Ad Exchange

A digital marketplace that enables advertisers and publishers to buy and sell advertising space, often through real-time auctions. They’re mostly used to sell display, video and mobile ad inventory.

Ad Insertion

when an ad is inserted in a document and recorded by the ad server.

Ad Network

an aggregator or broker of advertising inventory for many sites. Ad serving is normally performed either by a web publisher or by a third-party ad server. Ads can be embedded in the page or served separately.

Ad Tech

Ad tech, short for advertising technology, refers to all technologies, software and services used for delivering, controlling and targeting online ads.

Ad Slot

Is the area on a web page set aside for the display of ads.

Ad Transfers

The successful display of an advertiser’s website after the user clicked on an ad. When a user clicks on an advertisement, a click-through is recorded and redirects or “transfers” the user’s browser to an advertiser’s website. If the user successfully displays the advertiser’s website, an ad transfer is recorded.

Ad Verification

A service that confirms if an ad ran where it was intended on behalf of the advertiser.

Ad View

When the ad is seen by the user. Note this is not measurable today. The best approximation today is provided by ad displays.

Affiliate Marketing

Works on an agreement between two sites; one site (the affiliate) agrees to feature content or an ad designed to drive traffic to another site and in return the affiliate receives a percentage of sales or some other form of compensation generated by that traffic.

Banner

A graphic advertising image displayed on a web page. See iab.net for voluntary guidelines defining specifications of banner ads.

Behavioral Targeting

A technique used by online publishers and advertisers to increase the effectiveness of their campaigns. Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual’s web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made to select which advertisements to be displayed to that individual.

Below the Fold

The part of a webpage that can’t be seen without scrolling down. See ‘Above the Fold’.

Bid

Refers to the amount of money that an advertiser is willing to pay each time a web searcher clicks on an ad and visits their website.

Bid Request

In order to sell inventory in real-time, online publishers need to submit bid request information, such as domain URL, banner types, floor price and position.

Bid Response

Participating in an auction requires the submission of an answer to the publisher’s bid request: the Bid Response. This may contain bid price, Seat ID (identifies the buyer) and target URL.

Blacklist

A list of websites that an advertiser will not permit their ads to be placed on. These sites often contain content that is not aligned with the brand image of the advertiser.

Bonus Impressions

Additional ad impressions above the commitments outlined in the approved insertion order.

Bot

Software that runs automatically without human intervention. Typically, a bot is endowed with the capability to react to different situations it may encounter. Two common types of bots are agents and spiders. Bots are used by companies like search engines to discover websites for indexing.

Brand Safety

A set of practices and tools that ensures the advertiser’s brand is not damaged as a result of the improper or inappropriate placement of ads.

Buyer

An agency representing buyers that attempts to buy ad inventory on behalf of advertisers.

Cache

Memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Caches can be local (i.e. on a browser) or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM) and disk (hard drive) cache.

Cache Ad Impressions

The delivery of an advertisement to a browser from local cache or proxy server’s cache. When a user requests a page that contains a cached ad, the ad is obtained from the cache and displayed.

Campaign Dashboard

Is a collection of charts and graphs that provide a snapshot of campaign performance so executives can identify problems or marketplace opportunities and shift gears, if a better course of action is required.

Conversion

When someone clicks on an ad and performs an action determined by the advertiser (i.e. making a purchase, subscribing to a newsletter, etc.)

Conversion Rate

The number of visitors expressed as a percentage who “convert” after visiting a site through an email or ad. Rates are calculated by taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the total number of ads clicked during the same time frame.

Cost Per Engagement

This is a model where the impressions are free; advertisers only pay when a user actively engages with an ad (i.e. clicks, watches, rolls-over the ad).

Channel

1) a band or similar content; 2) a type of sales outlet (also known as channel of distribution), for example, retail, catalog or e-commerce.

Click Fraud

Click fraud is a type of Internet crime that occurs in a pay-per-click online advertising when a person, automated script or computer program imitates a legitimate user of a web browser clicking on an ad, for the purpose of generating a charge-per-click without having actual interest in the target of the ad’s link.

Click Rate

Ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions.

Click-Through-Rate (CTR)

Used to measure the success of an online or mobile advertising campaign, CTR is the number of users who clicked on an ad/number of times the ad was delivered.

Clickbait

Website content that is aimed at generating advertising revenue, especially at the expense of quality or accuracy. It mainly relies on sensationalist headlines to attract click-throughs.

Clicks

1) metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet ad. There are three types of clicks: click-throughs; in-unit clicks and mouse-overs; 2) the opportunity for a user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server; 3) the result of a measurable interaction with an advertisement or key word that links the advertiser’s intended website or another page or frame within the website; 4) metric which measures the reaction of user to linked editorial content.

Content Grazing

This refers to the common multi-device practice of using two or more screens at the same time to access unrelated content (e.g. watching a show on TV and writing an email on a smartphone or tablet.

Contextual Targeting

A form of targeted advertising that scans media for context and automatically serves ads based on the content displayed to the user.

Cookie

A small piece of information (i.e. program code) that is stored on a browser for the purses of identifying that browser during audience activity and between visits/sessions.

Cookie Buster

Software that blocks the placement of cookies on a user’s browser.

Cookie Syncing

The process of mapping user IDs from one system to another.

CPA (Cost-Per-Action)

cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. “Actions” include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click.

CPC (Cost-Per-Click)

Cost of advertising based on the number of times a customer clicks on an advert instead of the number of impressions.

CPL (Cost-Per-Lead)

Cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received.

CPM (Cost-Per-Mile, more commonly referred to as Cost-Per-Thousand)

Media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions (“mile” means thousand in Latin). For example, if a website publisher charges $1.50 CPM, that means an advertiser will pay $1.50 for every 1,000 impressions of its ad. To calculate the CPM for a campaign, divide the budget of the campaign by the number of impressions and multiply by a thousand. E.g. (15,000/10,000,000) *1000= $1.50 CPM.

DCO (Dynamic Creative Optimization)

A dynamic creative ad is a personalized unique ad built in real-time when an ad request is delivered to an ad server. The dynamic ad is created on the fly by using a unique ad template and different elements pulled from a merchant product feed.

Direct Response Advertising

A goal of soliciting an immediate, near-term action from a viewer.

Display Advertising

A form of online advertising where an advertiser’s message is shown on a destination webpage in graphic format.

DMP (Data Management Platform)

A database of publisher and user data. The software manages and sorts multiple data points then segments for businesses to use.

DSP (Demand-Side-Platform)

Allows advertisers and ad agencies to more easily access and efficiently buy ad inventory across multiple ad exchanges through one interface because the DSP aggregates inventory from multiple ad exchanges, simplifying the process.

Dwell Rate

Measures the actual length of time a user’s cursor is stationary on one device, testing the engagement with ads and various other characteristics.

Dynamic IP Address

An IP address (assigned by an ISP to a client PC) that changes periodically.

Dynamic Pricing

The purchase price for an ad impression that is determined via a real-time auction rather than a predetermined fixed rate.

eCPM

Term describing the effective cost of 1,000 impressions (“mile” means thousand in Latin). In online advertising, eCPM translates to the advertising revenue generated per 1,000 impressions. To work this out, you must divide the total advertising earnings from a campaign by the total number of impressions and then multiply by 1,000. This leaves you with how much you’re earning on average from your CPM campaign.

Engagement

A form of marketing that directly connects a consumer with a brand Examples of this are “likes” on a Facebook fan page, retweets of a brand tweet on Twitter or comments on a blog.

Expandable Banners

A banner ad which can expand to as large as 468×240 after a user clicks on it or after a user moves his/her cursor over the banner. See iab.net for the IAB IMU guidelines.

First Look

Prioritized access to selected advertisers. Instead of a highest bidder winning the auction, the preferred advertiser gets the first refusal of an ad space; within an auction that has a pre-determined floor price.

First-Party-Data

Is information collected and stored directly by website publishers, retailers and other types of companies about their site visitors or customers.

Floating Ads

An ad or ads that appear within the main browser window on top of the web page’s normal content, thereby appearing to “float” over the top of the page.

Floor Price

The minimum selling price set by a publisher on an ad exchange for selling an ad impression.

Fold

An ad or content that is viewable as soon as the webpage appears. A user does not need to scroll down or sideways to see it.

Frequency

The number of times an ad is delivered to the same browser in a single session or time period. A site can use cookies in order to manage ad frequency.

Frequency Capping

Refers to the practice of restricting the number of times an ad is seen in a particular period (also referred to as Capping).

Geotargeting

Displaying (or preventing the display of) content based on automated or assumed knowledge of an end user’s position in the real world. Relevant to both PC and mobile data services.
High Impact Units: large canvas advertising formats that take up much of the webpage and are well known for driving higher response rates (clicks, interaction, engagement). They can often have interactive elements to them.

Impression

A measurement of responses from a web server to a page request from the user browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and error codes, and is recorded at a point as close as possible to opportunity to see the page by the user.

Inventory

The number of ads available for sale on a website.

Keyword

Specific word or series of words entered into a search engine by the user that produce a list of websites related to the keyword(s).

Keyword Targeting

The use of specific keywords to find related content.

KPI (Key Performance Indicators)

Key Performance Indicators are objectives that help define and measure the progress of goals set by the organization.

Linear Video Ads

Refers to an ad that takes over the full view of the video and is presented before, between or after the video content has been consumer by the user.

Meta-DSP

An innovative trading platform that unifies the world’s leading DSPs through one single entry point, creating a holistic view of the media ecosystem. Two-way API connections enable changes to be made in each platform, running an advertising campaign across multiple DSPs and technologies at the same time.

Mid-roll

Form of online video advertisement that appears mid-way through an online video. See ‘Pre-roll’ and ‘Post-roll’.

Multi-Platform

Multiple Demand Side Platforms (DSPs) incorporated into one advertising trading platform, such as The Exchange Lab’s proprietary management trading platform, Proteus. A multi-platform approach provides efficiency, scale and the ability to reach audiences across all devices and channels.

Native

Describes a type of paid media where the ad experience follows the state structure of the environment in which it is placed, to mimic the user environment. It copies the site’s format to make it blend in, basically.

Omni

A combining form meaning “all”.

Omni-Platform

All platforms in one

OPA (Online Privacy Alliance)

These are a group of corporations and associations who have come together to introduce and promote business-wide actions that create an environment of trust and foster the protection of individuals’ privacy online.

Open Auction/Ad Exchange

An open ad exchange is where advertisers and agencies can buy ad impressions without prior clearance from marketers or publishers.

Optimization

The process of modifying your ads to improve campaign performance.

Opt-in

Refers to an individual giving a company permission to use data collected from or about the individual for a particular reason, such as to market the company’s products and services.

Over-the-Top (OTT)

Video content that is accessed via the internet without the involvement of a television service provider. This includes Subscription Video-on-Demand (SVOD) services like Netflix and Hulu.

Pixel

small code placed on a website, unnoticeable to visitors and doesn’t affect performance. When new visitors arrive the pixel drops an anonymous browser cookie. Later, when cookied visitors browse the Internet, the cookies inform your retargeting provider to serve ads, ensuring your ads are served to a relevant audience.

PMP (Private Marketplace)

A closed environment for publishers to sample programmatic- setting a minimum price, access, advertisers, and inventory. This inventory is not otherwise available through an open auction.

Pop-Under Ad

Ad that appears in a separate window beneath an open window. Pop-under ads are concealed until the top window is closed, moved, re-sized or minimized.

Pop-Up Ad

Ad that appears in a separate window on top of content already on-screen. Similar to a daughter window, but without an associated banner.

Post-roll

An online video ad placement that appears at the end of an online video. See ‘Pre-roll’ and ‘Mid-roll’.

PPC (Pay-Per-Click)

An advert mail message. See ‘CPC’.

Pre-roll

Form of online video ad placement where the advertisement is played before the content video plays. See ‘Post-roll’ and ‘Mid-roll’.

Programmatic

Programmatic ad buying is the elimination of paper-based manual media buying to an automated process.

Programmatic Direct

Data-driven media buying through a web-based interface. This is the automation of processes involved in buying and selling media, which used to be quite an admin heavy process of order forms and RFPs (request for proposals).

Programmatic TV (PTV)

Is technology that enables brands and agencies to buy TV ads through programmatic means, rather than being traded manually.

Publisher

An individual or organization that prepares, issues and disseminates content for public distribution or sale via one or more media.

Reach

1) Unique users that visited the site over the course of the reporting period, expressed as a percent of the universe for the demographic category- also called unduplicated audience; 2) the total number of unique users who will be served a given ad.

Remnant Inventory

Inventory that a publisher is unable to sell directly that is then typically turned over to a third-party to sell.

Responsive Design

A web design process enabling content to re-size, reformat, reshape and re-position itself in real-time to fit the browsing screen of a user.

Retargeting

Allows online advertisers to target consumers based on their previous interactions with a website. It acts as a ‘reminder’ to site visitors who have not yet purchased. Also referred to as remarketing or behavioral targeting.

RTB (Real-Time Bidding)

Real-time bidding refers to the buying and selling of online ad impressions through real-time auctions that occur in the time it takes a webpage to load. Also known as RTA or Real-Time Advertising.

Scalability

Refers to the audience reach available in marketing campaigns.

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Is the process of improving the volume or quality of traffic to a website from search engines via “natural” (organic or algorithmic) search results.

Showrooming

When consumers compare prices on mobile whilst out in a traditional brick and mortar shop.

Skins

Customized sets of graphics used in display advertising as a highly-visible wallpaper.

Skippable Pre-Roll

In-stream video ads that allow viewers to skip ahead to non-advertisement video content after playing for a few seconds.

SSL (Secure Sockets Layer)

Provides a secure connection between websites and Internet browsers, enabling private data transition online. An SSL secured site displays a padlock in the browser URL. Some ad exchanges place restrictions on the types of ads that run on these sites and require secure creative placements.

SSP (Supply-Side Platform)

Enables publishers to plug into the ad exchanges to make their inventory available. Through SSPs, publishers hope to gain the highest eCPM for their inventory, as opposed to selling it at low-cost remnant prices.

Third Party Ad Server

Independent outsources companies that specialize in managing, maintaining, serving, tracking and analyzing the results of online ad campaigns. They deliver targeted advertising that can be tailored to consumers’ declared or predicted characteristics or preferences.

Third-Party Data

Data obtained through a multitude of Internet interactions from outside sources. It is used to help create consumer segments for targeted ads.

Trading Desk

A third-party company that licenses and supports DSP technology, managing programmatic, bid-based media and audience buying on behalf of advertisers/agencies.

TV Syncing

Using geolocation, behavioral data and device signals, TV syncing triggers online ad campaigns in real-time to coincide with brand adverts being shown on TV.

Viewability

Is an online advertising metric that aims only to track the impressions that have been seen by a user.

Viewability Rate

Percentage of ad impressions which are actually seen by a user. Current viewable impression standards set by the Media Ratings Council (MRC) are that at least 50% of ad pixels in an ad are seen for at least one second. For a video, it is required that 2 continuous seconds of the ad is played.

Weather Targeting

Uses location-based data automatically to serve a targeted ad to a user, based on real-time weather conditions, current temperature, wind speeds and humidity.

Whitelist

A list of trustworthy websites an advertiser allows their adverts to be placed on.

Win Rate

Is the ratio of submitted bids and won impressions (comes as a percentage).

Yield Optimization

Technique employed by publishers to determine the value of their ad impressions in order to manage the flow of inventory and improve performance.

Above the Fold

refers to positioning- part of the webpage that is visible without scrolling. See “Below the Fold”.

Ad Blocker

Software on a user’s browser which prevents advertisements from being displayed

Ad Exchange

A digital marketplace that enables advertisers and publishers to buy and sell advertising space, often through real-time auctions. They’re mostly used to sell display, video and mobile ad inventory.

Ad Insertion

when an ad is inserted in a document and recorded by the ad server.

Ad Network

An aggregator or broker of advertising inventory for many sites. Ad serving is normally performed either by a web publisher or by a third-party ad server. Ads can be embedded in the page or served separately.

Ad Tech

Ad tech, short for advertising technology, refers to all technologies, software and services used for delivering, controlling and targeting online ads.

Ad Slot

Is the area on a web page set aside for the display of ads.

Ad Transfers

The successful display of an advertiser’s website after the user clicked on an ad. When a user clicks on an advertisement, a click-through is recorded and redirects or “transfers” the user’s browser to an advertiser’s website. If the user successfully displays the advertiser’s website, an ad transfer is recorded.

Ad Verification

A service that confirms if an ad ran where it was intended on behalf of the advertiser.

Ad View

When the ad is seen by the user. Note this is not measurable today. The best approximation today is provided by ad displays.

Affiliate Marketing

Works on an agreement between two sites; one site (the affiliate) agrees to feature content or an ad designed to drive traffic to another site and in return the affiliate receives a percentage of sales or some other form of compensation generated by that traffic.

Banner

A graphic advertising image displayed on a web page. See iab.net for voluntary guidelines defining specifications of banner ads.

Behavioral Targeting

A technique used by online publishers and advertisers to increase the effectiveness of their campaigns. Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual’s web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made to select which advertisements to be displayed to that individual.

Below the Fold

The part of a webpage that can’t be seen without scrolling down. See ‘Above the Fold’.

Bid

Refers to the amount of money that an advertiser is willing to pay each time a web searcher clicks on an ad and visits their website.

Bid Request

In order to sell inventory in real-time, online publishers need to submit bid request information, such as domain URL, banner types, floor price and position.

Bid Response

Participating in an auction requires the submission of an answer to the publisher’s bid request: the Bid Response. This may contain bid price, Seat ID (identifies the buyer) and target URL.

Blacklist

A list of websites that an advertiser will not permit their ads to be placed on. These sites often contain content that is not aligned with the brand image of the advertiser.

Bonus Impressions

Additional ad impressions above the commitments outlined in the approved insertion order.

Bot

Software that runs automatically without human intervention. Typically, a bot is endowed with the capability to react to different situations it may encounter. Two common types of bots are agents and spiders. Bots are used by companies like search engines to discover websites for indexing.

Brand Safety

A set of practices and tools that ensures the advertiser’s brand is not damaged as a result of the improper or inappropriate placement of ads.

Buyer

An agency representing buyers that attempts to buy ad inventory on behalf of advertisers.

Cache

Memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Caches can be local (i.e. on a browser) or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM) and disk (hard drive) cache.

Cache Ad Impressions

The delivery of an advertisement to a browser from local cache or proxy server’s cache. When a user requests a page that contains a cached ad, the ad is obtained from the cache and displayed.

Campaign Dashboard

Is a collection of charts and graphs that provide a snapshot of campaign performance so executives can identify problems or marketplace opportunities and shift gears, if a better course of action is required.

Conversion

When someone clicks on an ad and performs an action determined by the advertiser (i.e. making a purchase, subscribing to a newsletter, etc.)

Conversion Rate

The number of visitors expressed as a percentage who “convert” after visiting a site through an email or ad. Rates are calculated by taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the total number of ads clicked during the same time frame.

Cost Per Engagement

This is a model where the impressions are free; advertisers only pay when a user actively engages with an ad (i.e. clicks, watches, rolls-over the ad).

Channel

1) a band or similar content; 2) a type of sales outlet (also known as channel of distribution), for example, retail, catalog or e-commerce.

Click Fraud

Click fraud is a type of Internet crime that occurs in a pay-per-click online advertising when a person, automated script or computer program imitates a legitimate user of a web browser clicking on an ad, for the purpose of generating a charge-per-click without having actual interest in the target of the ad’s link.

Click Rate

Ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions.

Click-Through-Rate (CTR)

Used to measure the success of an online or mobile advertising campaign, CTR is the number of users who clicked on an ad/number of times the ad was delivered.

Clickbait

Website content that is aimed at generating advertising revenue, especially at the expense of quality or accuracy. It mainly relies on sensationalist headlines to attract click-throughs.

Clicks

1) metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet ad. There are three types of clicks: click-throughs; in-unit clicks and mouse-overs; 2) the opportunity for a user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server; 3) the result of a measurable interaction with an advertisement or key word that links the advertiser’s intended website or another page or frame within the website; 4) metric which measures the reaction of user to linked editorial content.

Content Grazing

This refers to the common multi-device practice of using two or more screens at the same time to access unrelated content (e.g. watching a show on TV and writing an email on a smartphone or tablet.

Contextual Targeting

A form of targeted advertising that scans media for context and automatically serves ads based on the content displayed to the user.

Cookie

A small piece of information (i.e. program code) that is stored on a browser for the purses of identifying that browser during audience activity and between visits/sessions.

Cookie Buster

Software that blocks the placement of cookies on a user’s browser.

Cookie Syncing

The process of mapping user IDs from one system to another.

CPA (Cost-Per-Action)

cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. “Actions” include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click.

CPC (Cost-Per-Click)

Cost of advertising based on the number of times a customer clicks on an advert instead of the number of impressions.

CPL (Cost-Per-Lead)

Cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received.

CPM (Cost-Per-Mile, more commonly referred to as Cost-Per-Thousand)

Media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions (“mile” means thousand in Latin). For example, if a website publisher charges $1.50 CPM, that means an advertiser will pay $1.50 for every 1,000 impressions of its ad. To calculate the CPM for a campaign, divide the budget of the campaign by the number of impressions and multiply by a thousand. E.g. (15,000/10,000,000) *1000= $1.50 CPM.

DCO (Dynamic Creative Optimization)

A dynamic creative ad is a personalized unique ad built in real-time when an ad request is delivered to an ad server. The dynamic ad is created on the fly by using a unique ad template and different elements pulled from a merchant product feed.

Direct Response Advertising

A goal of soliciting an immediate, near-term action from a viewer.

Display Advertising

A form of online advertising where an advertiser’s message is shown on a destination webpage in graphic format.

DMP (Data Management Platform)

A database of publisher and user data. The software manages and sorts multiple data points then segments for businesses to use.

DSP (Demand-Side-Platform)

Allows advertisers and ad agencies to more easily access and efficiently buy ad inventory across multiple ad exchanges through one interface because the DSP aggregates inventory from multiple ad exchanges, simplifying the process.

Dwell Rate

Measures the actual length of time a user’s cursor is stationary on one device, testing the engagement with ads and various other characteristics.

Dynamic IP Address

An IP address (assigned by an ISP to a client PC) that changes periodically.

Dynamic Pricing

The purchase price for an ad impression that is determined via a real-time auction rather than a predetermined fixed rate.

eCPM

Term describing the effective cost of 1,000 impressions (“mile” means thousand in Latin). In online advertising, eCPM translates to the advertising revenue generated per 1,000 impressions. To work this out, you must divide the total advertising earnings from a campaign by the total number of impressions and then multiply by 1,000. This leaves you with how much you’re earning on average from your CPM campaign.

Engagement

A form of marketing that directly connects a consumer with a brand Examples of this are “likes” on a Facebook fan page, retweets of a brand tweet on Twitter or comments on a blog.

Expandable Banners

A banner ad which can expand to as large as 468×240 after a user clicks on it or after a user moves his/her cursor over the banner. See iab.net for the IAB IMU guidelines.

First Look

Prioritized access to selected advertisers. Instead of a highest bidder winning the auction, the preferred advertiser gets the first refusal of an ad space; within an auction that has a pre-determined floor price.

First-Party-Data

Is information collected and stored directly by website publishers, retailers and other types of companies about their site visitors or customers.

Floating Ads

An ad or ads that appear within the main browser window on top of the web page’s normal content, thereby appearing to “float” over the top of the page.

Floor Price

The minimum selling price set by a publisher on an ad exchange for selling an ad impression.

Fold

An ad or content that is viewable as soon as the webpage appears. A user does not need to scroll down or sideways to see it.

Frequency

The number of times an ad is delivered to the same browser in a single session or time period. A site can use cookies in order to manage ad frequency.

Frequency Capping

Refers to the practice of restricting the number of times an ad is seen in a particular period (also referred to as Capping).

Geotargeting

Displaying (or preventing the display of) content based on automated or assumed knowledge of an end user’s position in the real world. Relevant to both PC and mobile data services.
High Impact Units: large canvas advertising formats that take up much of the webpage and are well known for driving higher response rates (clicks, interaction, engagement). They can often have interactive elements to them.

No Result!

Impression

A measurement of responses from a web server to a page request from the user browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and error codes, and is recorded at a point as close as possible to opportunity to see the page by the user.

Inventory

The number of ads available for sale on a website.

No Result!

Keyword

Specific word or series of words entered into a search engine by the user that produce a list of websites related to the keyword(s).

Keyword Targeting

The use of specific keywords to find related content.

KPI (Key Performance Indicators)

Key Performance Indicators are objectives that help define and measure the progress of goals set by the organization.

Linear Video Ads

Refers to an ad that takes over the full view of the video and is presented before, between or after the video content has been consumer by the user.

Meta-DSP

An innovative trading platform that unifies the world’s leading DSPs through one single entry point, creating a holistic view of the media ecosystem. Two-way API connections enable changes to be made in each platform, running an advertising campaign across multiple DSPs and technologies at the same time.

Mid-roll

Form of online video advertisement that appears mid-way through an online video. See ‘Pre-roll’ and ‘Post-roll’.

Multi-Platform

Multiple Demand Side Platforms (DSPs) incorporated into one advertising trading platform, such as The Exchange Lab’s proprietary management trading platform, Proteus. A multi-platform approach provides efficiency, scale and the ability to reach audiences across all devices and channels.

Native

Describes a type of paid media where the ad experience follows the state structure of the environment in which it is placed, to mimic the user environment. It copies the site’s format to make it blend in, basically.

Omni

A combining form meaning “all”.

Omni-Platform

All platforms in one

OPA (Online Privacy Alliance)

These are a group of corporations and associations who have come together to introduce and promote business-wide actions that create an environment of trust and foster the protection of individuals’ privacy online.

Open Auction/Ad Exchange

An open ad exchange is where advertisers and agencies can buy ad impressions without prior clearance from marketers or publishers.

Optimization

The process of modifying your ads to improve campaign performance.

Opt-in

Refers to an individual giving a company permission to use data collected from or about the individual for a particular reason, such as to market the company’s products and services.

Over-the-Top (OTT)

Video content that is accessed via the internet without the involvement of a television service provider. This includes Subscription Video-on-Demand (SVOD) services like Netflix and Hulu.

Pixel

small code placed on a website, unnoticeable to visitors and doesn’t affect performance. When new visitors arrive the pixel drops an anonymous browser cookie. Later, when cookied visitors browse the Internet, the cookies inform your retargeting provider to serve ads, ensuring your ads are served to a relevant audience.

PMP (Private Marketplace)

A closed environment for publishers to sample programmatic- setting a minimum price, access, advertisers, and inventory. This inventory is not otherwise available through an open auction.

Pop-Under Ad

Ad that appears in a separate window beneath an open window. Pop-under ads are concealed until the top window is closed, moved, re-sized or minimized.

Pop-Up Ad

Ad that appears in a separate window on top of content already on-screen. Similar to a daughter window, but without an associated banner.

Post-roll

An online video ad placement that appears at the end of an online video. See ‘Pre-roll’ and ‘Mid-roll’.

PPC (Pay-Per-Click)

An advert mail message. See ‘CPC’.

Pre-roll

Form of online video ad placement where the advertisement is played before the content video plays. See ‘Post-roll’ and ‘Mid-roll’.

Programmatic

Programmatic ad buying is the elimination of paper-based manual media buying to an automated process.

Programmatic Direct

Data-driven media buying through a web-based interface. This is the automation of processes involved in buying and selling media, which used to be quite an admin heavy process of order forms and RFPs (request for proposals).

Programmatic TV (PTV)

Is technology that enables brands and agencies to buy TV ads through programmatic means, rather than being traded manually.

Publisher

An individual or organization that prepares, issues and disseminates content for public distribution or sale via one or more media.

No Result!

Reach

1) Unique users that visited the site over the course of the reporting period, expressed as a percent of the universe for the demographic category- also called unduplicated audience; 2) the total number of unique users who will be served a given ad.

Remnant Inventory

Inventory that a publisher is unable to sell directly that is then typically turned over to a third-party to sell.

Responsive Design

A web design process enabling content to re-size, reformat, reshape and re-position itself in real-time to fit the browsing screen of a user.

Retargeting

Allows online advertisers to target consumers based on their previous interactions with a website. It acts as a ‘reminder’ to site visitors who have not yet purchased. Also referred to as remarketing or behavioral targeting.

RTB (Real-Time Bidding)

Real-time bidding refers to the buying and selling of online ad impressions through real-time auctions that occur in the time it takes a webpage to load. Also known as RTA or Real-Time Advertising.

Scalability

Refers to the audience reach available in marketing campaigns.

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Is the process of improving the volume or quality of traffic to a website from search engines via “natural” (organic or algorithmic) search results.

Showrooming

When consumers compare prices on mobile whilst out in a traditional brick and mortar shop.

Skins

Customized sets of graphics used in display advertising as a highly-visible wallpaper.

Skippable Pre-Roll

In-stream video ads that allow viewers to skip ahead to non-advertisement video content after playing for a few seconds.

SSL (Secure Sockets Layer)

Provides a secure connection between websites and Internet browsers, enabling private data transition online. An SSL secured site displays a padlock in the browser URL. Some ad exchanges place restrictions on the types of ads that run on these sites and require secure creative placements.

SSP (Supply-Side Platform)

Enables publishers to plug into the ad exchanges to make their inventory available. Through SSPs, publishers hope to gain the highest eCPM for their inventory, as opposed to selling it at low-cost remnant prices.

Third Party Ad Server

Independent outsources companies that specialize in managing, maintaining, serving, tracking and analyzing the results of online ad campaigns. They deliver targeted advertising that can be tailored to consumers’ declared or predicted characteristics or preferences.

Third-Party Data

Data obtained through a multitude of Internet interactions from outside sources. It is used to help create consumer segments for targeted ads.

Trading Desk

A third-party company that licenses and supports DSP technology, managing programmatic, bid-based media and audience buying on behalf of advertisers/agencies.

TV Syncing

Using geolocation, behavioral data and device signals, TV syncing triggers online ad campaigns in real-time to coincide with brand adverts being shown on TV.

No Result!

Viewability

Is an online advertising metric that aims only to track the impressions that have been seen by a user.

Viewability Rate

Percentage of ad impressions which are actually seen by a user. Current viewable impression standards set by the Media Ratings Council (MRC) are that at least 50% of ad pixels in an ad are seen for at least one second. For a video, it is required that 2 continuous seconds of the ad is played.

Weather Targeting

Uses location-based data automatically to serve a targeted ad to a user, based on real-time weather conditions, current temperature, wind speeds and humidity.

Whitelist

A list of trustworthy websites an advertiser allows their adverts to be placed on.

Win Rate

Is the ratio of submitted bids and won impressions (comes as a percentage).

No Result!

Yield Optimization

Technique employed by publishers to determine the value of their ad impressions in order to manage the flow of inventory and improve performance.

No Result!

Privacy Preference Center

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?